Immense Change in my Life – the last 18 months…

I was thinking about the enormous change my life has gone through over the last 18 months…and it made my head spin ! After being “relatively” single for nearly 33 years, I got married in October 2006. The East coast was never in my radar for a place to live but I moved from Dallas to New Jersey in March 2007 and changed jobs. I had been settling comfortably at HCL, India’s 4th largest outsourcing powerhouse, enjoying the benefits and the “power” of being a senior manager at a $4bn company. However, the risk taker in me made me dive into a startup – Gameshastra. My wife and me had a baby boy, Arjun, in August 2007 and just as we were contemplating buying a house in the Poconos (an Hour from NY in Pennsylvania) , my company opened up a new HQ in El Segundo, CA (Greater Los Angeles). Before anyone could say “baby boy”, we packed our stuff and moved to a beautiful apartment in Marina Del Rey. The highlight of course, in all this madness, was meeting my wife and having Arjun. Having a child is absolutely the most amazing life changing experience for any human being. Mita (my wife) and Arjun are the only things which kept me sane in the midst of all this change. Working for Gameshastra is the next best thing !! The opportunities and challenges in a startup are scary and exhilarating – Like the proverbial Roller coaster ride ! Every hour here is unique and since this is “my” company the buck starts and stops at me.

Leave a Reply

